Take A Back Road

Happy Canada Day everyone! It’s weekends like these where I wish I was back home celebrating. I guess my red and white outfit today will have to do! Instead of backyard barbecues and fireworks I spent my weekend traveling through the more southern part of England. Saturday morning Laura and I traveled to Oxford where we met up with a 2 day tour group. We first visited the University of Oxford and surrounding area. Walking through the streets you feel like you’ve just stepped into a movie scene, or someplace you’ve only dreamt about! Coincidentally many of the college buildings we used to film scenes from films such as Harry Potter and James Bond.

IMG_0753 IMG_0783 IMG_0805  IMG_0833

From oxford we traveled to the Cotswold region. An area full of rolling hills, small villages and market towns full of character. We first made a quick stop in Burford for lunch at a tea room with the cutest courtyard patio. We then traveled on to Stow-On-The-Wold and Upper Slaughter, spending only about 15 minutes in each walking through the villages. Definitely a change from the city, but so beautiful. It’s hard to believe that people actually get to live in a place like this! We ended the day with another stop in Bilbury in the heart of the Cotswolds.

IMG_0877IMG_0889IMG_0882IMG_0955IMG_0935IMG_0937

Unfortunately Sunday did not go as I had planned. With another full day of touring, getting sick was not on my agenda! After being up for most of the night I somehow managed to make it through the tour of The Roman Baths and the city centre. About midday I decided that I should call it quits and head back home. Luckily all that was left on the tour was Stonehenge which I thankfully was able to visit three years ago! 4 hours worth of trains later I called it a night and was in bed before the kids. Hoping today goes better!

IMG_1027  IMG_1048  IMG_1125

Leave a Reply

